Social top

JTTP 2016

17th Jeu de Temps / Times Play

Winners | Submissions | Events | Awards | Jury

Recent works by young and/or emerging composers and sound artists from or living in Canada are featured in the 17th edition of Jeu de temps / Times Play, coordinated annually by the CEC since 2000. JTTP 2016 events include a special concert at the Centro Mexicano para la Música y Artes Sonoras (CMMAS) in Morelia, Mexico.

image image imageimage image
JTTP 2016 winners (left to right): Samuel Béland, Myriam Boucher, Vanessa Massera, Jérémie Ricard, Paul Tremblay. [Click images to enlarge]

Jeu de Temps / Times Play (JTTP) is an annual project aimed at supporting and encouraging new electroacoustic works by young and/or emerging sound artists from / living in Canada. A diverse international jury selects five prize-winning works as well as a collection of works for inclusion on the Cache compilation CD. A focus issue of eContact! features all submissions to the project, and a number of international radio broadcasts and concert performances are coordinated each year. Several past winners have gone on to win prizes in other renowned electroacoustic competitions internationally, such as Bourges, Métamorphoses and the SOCAN Foundation Awards.

About This Issue


  1. Myriam Boucher — Nuées (2016), videomusic
  2. Vanessa Massera — Éclats de feux (2016)
  3. Jérémie Ricard — Corrosion des alliages (2016)
  4. Samuel Béland — Biodôme (2016)
  5. Paul Tremblay — Drag (2016)

The JTTP 2016 Photo Album contains images of the winners and pictures taken at events where winning Jeu de temps / Times Play works were presented.

Participants and Submissions

A total of 38 recent works by composers living in Canada, the UK and Norway were submitted to JTTP 2016. Here you can read the programme notes and composer bios for all submissions or just sit back and enjoy the pieces — acousmatic and videomusic works, and more!

Events, Concerts and Radio Broadcasts

Over the course of the 2016–17 year, several events feature selected works from JTTP 2016. Our annual international concert this year is hosted by CMMAS, one of the most important electroacoustic production and creation institutions in Latin America.

Awards, Project Partners and Support

Each year a broad range of individuals and institutions, in Canada as well as abroad, offer a generous amount of support that is essential to the success of JTTP. Additionally, donations form extensive prize packages given to the composers of the top 5 placing works.


This year’s international jury was made up of 24 individuals having a variety of backgrounds and experiences: composers, performers, representatives from various international bodies, radio personalities, electroacoustic educators, as well as past JTTP prize winners.

David Arango Valencia
Kevin Austin
Dominique Bassal
Magdalena Buchwald
Rainer Bürck
Mark Corwin
Ivan Elezovic
Gordon Fitzell
Barbara Golden
Florian Hartlieb
Folkmar Hein
Elizabeth Hinkle-Turner
Elizabeth Hoffman
Hideko Kawamoto
Félix Lachance
Rick Nance
Jon Christopher Nelson
James O’Callaghan
Maggi Payne
Shawn Pinchbeck
Laurie Radford
Ana Maria Rodriguez
Rodrigo Sigal
Scott Smallwood
Canada Council for the ArtsFondation SOCAN Foundation

Social bottom