eC!

Social top

Où l'eau rencontre

Maggi Payne
Stills taken from the video work, Liquid Metal, music and video by Maggi Payne. ©1996 Maggi Payne.

4 ii 1998

J'ai nommé cet article «où l'eau rencontre» parce que chaque oeuvre que j'ai choisie s'intéresse à des moments et des endroits au bord de l'eau. «Swimming the Reef» est un souvenir auditif de nage à proximité d'un écueil. «Kits Beach Soundwalk» commence à Kits Beach, Vancouver, et voyage vers un monde de fréquences élevées, évoquées par la plage. «Liquid Metal» explore les résonances visuelles, tangibles et auditives de la surface de l'eau, rencontrant l'air. Bienvenue au bord de l'eau.

L'idée de passage (confins, bords) est importante tant en écologie acoustique que dans les théories féministes. L'écologie acoustique s'intéresse à la relation entre les sons et l'environnement, et les compositeurs de paysages sonores le font à l'aide de l'enregistrement de ces sons et leurs représentations ultérieures sous une forme différente, modifiée, augmentée ou composée. Un des premiers exemples de ce genre de travail est Presque Rien #1, de Luc Ferrari, dans lequel il travaille avec des sons de bord de mer au lever du soleil - le bord entre l'eau et la terre, le passage de la nuit au jour. Travaillant à la lisière entre deux environnements ou états permet aux compositeurs de mettre l'emphase sur ce qui les rejoint ou ce qui les sépare.

Les théories féministes sont aussi concernées par les limites et les perceptions de différents états. Teresa de Lauretis parle de la «double conscience» des femmes qui travaillent avec la technologie, qui sont en même temps situées en tant que sujet, rationnelles, mettant de l'ordre dans la réalité à l'aide de la technologie, ainsi que construites de façon stéréotypée comme objet, irrationnelles, proches de la nature. de Lauretis pense que cette position garde les femmes réalisatrices (et je voudrais ajouter, compositrice de musique électroacoustique), toujours à l'avant-scène de cet état d'esprit, et le remettant en question constamment.

Cela ne veut pas dire que tout le travail des compositrices dont je vais parler fait partie de ce courant environnementaliste. Elles ont toutes composé une variété d'oeuvres; vous allez pouvoir vous en rendre compte en lisant les biographies ci-dessous et en vous promenant sur leurs sites web. Comme curatrice d'un concert à l'Université Concordia, j'ai pensé explorer cet aspect particulier de leur travail, afin de mieux comprendre nos points de rapprochement.

Andra McCartney

Andra McCartney est une artiste de paysages sonores qui créée des oeuvres multimédias, des cartes postales sonores, de l'art radio et des créations pour la danse. Elle est la mère de deux adolescents, qui (même si ils préfèrent le heavy metal) participent souvent au travail sonore de leur mère. Andra co-anime «Auditory Transitory» sur la radio CIUT Toronto 89.5 les lundis à minuit, une émission radiophonique hebdomadaire consacrée à la composition de paysage sonore et l'art radio. Elle termine présentement un doctorat en musique à l'Université York de Toronto, présentant un travail sur CD-ROM sur l'artiste sonore de Vancouver Hildegard Westerkamp. Andra McCartney est également membre du conseil d'administration de la CEC et de l'Association canadienne d'écologie acoustique.

Swimming the Reef 1990-96
Pour Patrick.

Sous les vagues, j'ai entendu ma respiration, les battements de mon coeur, vagues frénétiques. Les beaux poissons et coraux échappaient à mon oreille. La pièce transforme leurs noms récités - «tomtate, angelfish, barracuda, brain, fan» - afin d'imiter leurs mouvements, leurs formes, leurs couleurs. Vagues enregistrées à Palmiste, Grenade; Jour des Morts, 1990.

Hildegard Westerkamp

Hildegard Westerkamp émigra au Canada en 1968 et donna naissance à une fille en 1977. Après avoir complété ses études au début des années 70, son intérêt fut attiré par l'environnement en tant que contexte culturel élargi ou endroit d'écoute intense. En tant que compositrice, éducatrice, artiste radio, elle a, depuis le milieu des années 70, centré son travail autour des sons environnementaux et de l'écologie acoustique. Elle a enseigné la communication acoustique à l'Université Simon Fraser (1981-1991) et a dirigé plusieurs ateliers sur les paysages sonores à l'échelle internationale. Elle est membre fondatrice du World Forum for Acoustic Ecology (WFAE) et a été l'éditrice du Soundscape Newsletter pour plusieurs années. La majorité de ses compositions traite des aspects de l'environnement acoustique.

Kits Beach Soundwalk (1989)

Il y a dix ans, j'ai produit et animé un programme de radio sur la Radio Coopérative de Vancouver intitulé Soundwalking, dans lequel j'amène l'auditeur à différents endroits dans et autour de la ville, en l'explorant du point de vue acoustique. Kits Beach Soundwalk est une extension sous forme de composition de cette idée.

La plage de Kitsilano - appelé familièrement la plage de Kits et originairement en langage indien Khahtsahlano- est située au coeur même de Vancouver. En été, elle est peuplée d'une quantité de «salade de viande» et de «ghetto blasters», à des années lumières du silence que les indigènes indiens ont pu apprécier il n'y a pas si longtemps.

L'enregistrement original, duquel cette pièce est tirée, fut réalisé un matin d'hiver, quand le clapotement tranquille de l'eau et les sons des bernaches sont perceptibles à l'avant plan de ceux de la ville palpitante. Dans cette composition de promenade sonore, nous laissons la ville en arrière et explorons les réalités acoustiques ténues des bernaches, le monde des hautes fréquences, l'espace intérieur et les rêves.

Kits Beach Soundwalk fut réalisé en 1989 dans mon propre studio Inside the Soundscape et a été présentée pour la première fois en mars 1989, à l'Art Gallery de Vancouver.

Maggi Payne
Stills taken from the video work, Liquid Metal, music and video by Maggi Payne. ©1996 Maggi Payne.

Maggi Payne

Maggi Payne est présentement co-directrice du Centre de Musique Contemporaine du Mills College, Oakland, CA, où elle enseigne l'enregistrement sonore, la composition et la musique électronique. Elle est également, en tant que pigiste, ingénieur du son et éditrice. Ses pièces ont été jouées à travers les Etats-Unis et l'Europe, notamment au New Music Across America Festival '92, New Music America '90, '87 et '81 Festivals, Composers' Forum à NYC, Experimental Intermedia Foundation à NYC, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, SEAMUS, Western Front, Siggraph, CADRE, University of California at Santa Cruz, Cal State Northridge, Texas Tech University, University of Hartford, College of Santa Fe, Media Study/Buffalo, New Langton Arts in SF, New York Museum of Modern Art, Paris Autumn Festival, Festival de Bourges en France, et au Autunno Musical at Como, Italie. Elle a reçu deux bourses de compositeurs et une pour les Arts Interdisciplinaires du National Endowment for the Arts, et une bourse vidéo de la Mellon Foundation and the Western States Regional Media Arts Fellowships Program. Son DC, Crystal, est disponible sur le label Lovely Music, comme le sont d'ailleurs ses compositions Lunar Dusk et Lunar Earthrise. Airwaves est disponible sur le DC Another Coast chez Music and Arts, Resonant Places est sur le DC CDCM series CD (volume 17) chez Centaur, Desertscapes est sur MMC CD, Moire' est sur Asphodel CD et Subterranean Network est disponible sur la Mills College Anthology. Maggi Payne est affiliée à BMI, Audio Engineering Society, New Langton Arts, The American Music Center, American Composers Forum, SEAMUS et Electronic Music Foundation.

Liquid Metal (1994)

J'ai commencé à faire du canoé afin d'acquérir une «expérience de la nature» et pour développer la partie supérieure de mon corps. Je fut fasciné par les motifs de l'eau visibles de près. L'eau avait une sorte de beauté intime, très différente de l'eau vue d'une grande distance. J'ai capturé ces images pendant deux ans avant de finalement les mettre en séquences. Ce n'est qu'au montage que je réalisais à quel point l'eau peut être sans couleur (la définition du dictionnaire) - spécialement vue de près et particulièrement avec la constante couche de nuages que nous avons. La vidéo n'utilise pas de transformations.

Maggi Payne
Stills taken from the video work, Liquid Metal, music and video by Maggi Payne. ©1996 Maggi Payne

La «nature» que j'ai finalement expérimenté en grande partie fut celle de la nature humaine. J'aurais bien aimé parcourir les canaux californiens, entendant seulement les sons des oiseaux, de l'eau, etc. Malheureusement, la plupart des sons furent des Harley Davidsons rugissant sur la route du bas du canyon longeant la rivière, des hélicoptères, les Blue Angels, différents avions à hélices, un train crachant des harmoniques en tournant dans le canyon, des avions modèle réduit télécommandés, des voitures au dessus d'un pont, des skis d'eau et des bateaux à moteur avec ou sans skieurs. La musique vient de ces sons, avec seulement quelques exceptions (mouettes, chuttes d'eau, le vent et les vagues se brisant sur le rivage).

Je voulais transformer ces «sons naturels» indésirables en sons que je n'aurais pas de peine à écouter - ou à écouter en faisant du canoé. J'ai utilisé du «convolving», «phase vocoding», des superpositions de sons importantes et d'extrêmes égalisations pour accomplir les transformations.

WFAE
http://wfae.proscenia.net/

Traduction: Yves Gigon

Social bottom

eC!

Social top

Where water meets

4 ii 1998

Maggi Payne
Stills taken from the video work, Liquid Metal, music and video by Maggi Payne. ©1996 Maggi Payne.

 I have entitled this article "where water meets" because each of the pieces I have chosen concerns moments and places at the edge of water. Swimming the Reef is an auditory remembrance of a swim through a reef environment. Kits Beach Soundwalk begins at Kits Beach in Vancouver, then travels to a world of high frequencies that the beach evokes. Liquid Metal explores the visual, tactile and auditory resonances of the surface of water, meeting air. Welcome to the water's edge!

The idea of edges meeting is also an important one in both acoustic ecology and feminist theory. Acoustic ecology explores the relationships among sounds within an environment, and soundscape composers do this through the recording of those sounds and their later re-presentation in a somewhat different, heightened, edited or composed form. An early example of this kind of work is Presque Rien #1, by Luc Ferrari, in which he worked with the sounds of a beach around sunrise--the edge of water and land, as well as the edge of night and day. Working at the margins of two environments or states allows a soundscape composer to bring attention to what joins them as well as what separates them.

Feminist theory is also concerned with margins and perceptions of different states. Teresa de Lauretis talks of the "doubled consciousness" of women who work with technology, who are at once situated as the subject, rational, ordering reality with technology-- as well as stereotypically constructed as the object, irrational, close to Nature. de Lauretis says that this position keeps women film-makers (and I would add, electroacoustic composers), always on the edge of these states of mind, and always questioning them.

This is not to say that all of the work of these composers concerns itself with environmental edges. All have done a variety of work, which you will see from reading the bios below, and by linking to our websites. As curator of a concert at Concordia University, I sought to explore this particular aspect of our work, to understand better how in this way our edges meet.

Andra McCartney

Andra McCartney is a soundscape artist who creates multimedia works, audio postcards, radio art, and works for dance. She is the mother of two teenage children, who (although they prefer heavy metal) often take part in her audio work. Andra co-hosts "Auditory Transitory" on CIUT Toronto 89.5 Monday midnights, a weekly radio show devoted to soundscape composition and radio art. She is currently completing a PhD in Music at York University in Toronto, creating a CD ROM dissertation about Vancouver soundscape composer Hildegard Westerkamp. She is a board member of the Canadian Electroacoustic Community and the Canadian Association for Sound Ecology.

Swimming the Reef 1990-96
Pour Patrick.

Beneath the waves, I heard my breathing, heartbeat, pounding surf. The beautiful fish and coral were beyond my ears. This piece transforms their spoken names-tomtate, angelfish, barracuda, fan, brain-to mimic their movements, forms, and colours. Surf recorded at Palmiste, Grenada; All Soul's Day, 1990.

Hildegard Westerkamp

Hildegard Westerkamp emigrated to Canada in 1968 and gave birth to her daughter in 1977. After completing her music studies in the early seventies her ears were drawn beyond music to the acoustic environment as a broader cultural context or place for intense listening. Whether as a composer, educator, or radio artist most of her work since the mid-seventies has centred around environmental sound and acoustic ecology. She has taught acoustic communication at Simon Fraser University (1981-1991) and has conducted soundscape workshops internationally. She is a founding member of the World Forum for Acoustic Ecology (WFAE) and was the editor of the Soundscape Newsletter for several years. The majority of her compositions deal with aspects of the acoustic environment.

Kits Beach Soundwalk (1989)

About ten years ago I produced and hosted a radio program on Vancouver Cooperative Radio called Soundwalking, in which I took the listener to different locations in and around the city and explored them acoustically. Kits Beach Soundwalk is a compositional extension of this original idea.

Kitsilano Beach - colloquially called Kits Beach and originally in native Indian language Khahtsahlano - is located in the heart of Vancouver. In the summer it is crowded with a display of "meat salad" and ghetto blasters, indeed light years away from the silence experienced here not so long ago by the native Indians.

The original recording on which this piece is based was made on a calm winter morning, when the quiet lapping of the water and the tiny sounds of barnacles feeding were audible before an acoustic backdrop of the throbbing city. In this soundwalk composition we leave the city behind eventually and explore instead the tiny acoustic realm of barnacles, the world of high frequencies, inner space and dreams.

Kits Beach Soundwalk was realized in 1989 in my own studio Inside the Soundscape and was premiered in March, 1989 at the Vancouver Art Gallery.

Maggi Payne
Stills taken from the video work, Liquid Metal, music and video by Maggi Payne. ©1996 Maggi Payne.

Maggi Payne

Maggi Payne is currently Co-Director of the Center For Contemporary Music at Mills College, Oakland, CA, where she teaches recording engineering, composition and electronic music. She also freelances as a recording engineer and editor. She has had performances of her works throughout the United States and Europe, including the New Music Across America Festival '92, New Music America '90, '87 and '81 Festivals, Composers' Forum in NYC, Experimental Intermedia Foundation in NYC, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, SEAMUS, Western Front, Siggraph, CADRE, University of California at Santa Cruz, Cal State Northridge, Texas Tech University, University of Hartford, College of Santa Fe, Media Study/Buffalo, New Langton Arts in SF, New York Museum of Modern Art, Paris Autumn Festival, Bourges Festival in France, and the Autunno Musical at Como, Italy. She has received two Composer's Grants and an Interdisciplinary Arts Grant from the National Endowment for the Arts, and video grants from the Mellon Foundation and the Western States Regional Media Arts Fellowships Program. Her solo CD, Crystal, is available on the Lovely Music label, as are her compositions Lunar Dusk and Lunar Earthrise. Airwaves is available on the Another Coast CD from Music and Arts, Resonant Places is on the CDCM series CD (volume 17) from Centaur, Desertscapes is on a MMC CD, Moire' is on an Asphodel CD and Subterranean Network is available on the Mills College Anthology. Affiliations include BMI, Audio Engineering Society, New Langton Arts, The American Music Center, American Composers Forum, SEAMUS and Electronic Music Foundation.

Liquid Metal (1994)

I took up canoeing in an effort to "experience nature" and to build up my upper body. I became fascinated with the water patterns visible at such a close-up range. The water had an intimate kind of beauty, very different from water viewed from a greater distance. I captured images for two years before finally sequencing them. It was only in the editing that I fully realized that water actually turns out to be rather colorless (the dictionary definition) - especially at close range and especially with the almost constant cloud cover we experienced. The video has no processing whatsoever.

Maggi Payne
Stills taken from the video work, Liquid Metal, music and video by Maggi Payne. ©1996 Maggi Payne

The "nature" that I ended up experiencing in large part had to do with human nature. I would have loved to have paddled the California waterways hearing only the sounds of birds, water, etc., but instead much of the sound consisted of Harley Davidsons roaring down a canyon road adjacent to the river, helicopters, the Blue Angels, various prop planes, a train screeching harmonics as it went through turns in a canyon, remote-controlled model airplanes, cars driving over a bridge, jetskis and motorboats with and without waterskiers attached. The music is derived from those sounds, with only a few exceptions (seagulls, falls, wind and waves lapping against the shore).

I wanted to transform those undesirable "natural sounds" into sounds I would probably not mind hearing - or wouldn't mind hearing in my head while canoeing. I used convolving, phase vocoding, extensive layering and extreme equalizations to accomplish the transformations.

WFAE
http://wfae.proscenia.net/

Social bottom